Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Cricket Puzzle

Contrary to an Indian, I don't like cricket at all ( at least before twenty 20 ).
Though when I came through the below mentioned cricket puzzle and having interest in solving puzzles. I somehow gained interest in knowing the rules. So people who know cricket should have a look.
Here it goes:
There are last 2 balls to bowl. Both the batsman are on 94 each.
The team require 7 runs to win. Both has to score century as well.
How will they help their team to win.

4 comments:

Siddhartha Singh said...

Ans:
first ball -> The '1' batsman takes 4 runs and fielder overthrows the ball. then the batsman takes another 3 runs. While taking these 3 runs, the batsman didn't touch the line while taking one of the run. This way he is not qualified to for 7 runs. He just took 6 runs. At the same time he changed the side.
Second ball -> The '2' batsman hits the ball for six and this way team also won and both completed the centuries as well.

Neel said...

I think on "short run" the players have to change sides again as if the run was not taken.

Neel said...

I think on short run, the playerwsw have to change the sides again as if the run was not taken.

Siddhartha Singh said...

No if out of 3 runs 2nd run was short. Just the run is declared valid but side is changed.